The History of
St John’s Gate
The Sans sits flush with St John’s Gate, an original entrance to London, creating a playful architectural contrast highlighting the simple splendour of British modernism and historical significance of London’s past.
Built in 1504 as an entrance to Clerkenwell Priory, the English headquarters of the Knights of the Order of St John, St John’s Gate is one of the few remains from Clerkenwell’s monastic past. After the order was dissolved, the building has been the printing-house for Edward Cave’s The Gentleman’s Magazine, childhood home of the painter William Hogarth, and more recently voted as an iconic landmark to represent Islington for the London Olympics 2012.